Saturday, 7 February 2015

Osun Election: Tribunal Upholds Aregbesola’s Victory

The Osun state Governorship Election Petition Tribunal sitting in Osogbo, Friday, upheld the re-election of Governor Rauf Aregbesola in the August 9 election.

The Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC, had pronounced Aregbesola winner of the election with 374, 684 votes against the Peoples Democratic Party candidate, Senator Iyiola Omisore who polled 292, 747.

Senator Omisore challenged the declaration of Governor Aregbesola before the three-man Tribunal led by Justice Elizabeth Ikpejime.

In the about eight hours judgement read by Justice Ikpejime, the Tribunal dismissed the Omisore’s petition for lacking in merit.

It also held that the petitioners failed to prove most of the allegations raised in their petition before the Tribunal.

Specifically, the Tribunal failed to prove that voters were not properly accredited by INEC officials before voting.

On the allegation that unaccredited voters were allowed to vote during the election while those dully accredited were not allowed top vote, the Tribunal also held that the petitioner failed to prove this allegation.

The tribunal also said that on the allegation of multiple voting, the allegation can only be proved by the inspection of ballot papers used adding that the tribunal does not discover any multiple vote in any of the units in dispute.

The petitioners had also alleged intimidation and inducement of voters at polling centers to which the tribunal stated that throughout the proceedings of the petition, nobody proved that they were not allowed to vote on account of intimidation and harassment.

Osun state Governor, Ogbeni Rauf Aregbesola, has described as the triumph of the will and wishes of the people, the verdict of the tribunal which declared him winner.

Source: Vanguard

Previous Post
Next Post