Sunday, 15 March 2015

SRC Constitutes Electoral Commission & Election Petition Committee

The Students’ Representative Council of the Obafemi Awolowo University Students’ Union has finally constituted the Electoral Commission and the Election Petition Committee after the first parliamentary sitting aimed at doing that ended in scuffle.

Following the provisions of Article V, Sect. 60 (1) of the sacrosanct constitution of the Students’ Union which reads “there shall be an Electoral Commission consisting of Electoal Officers constituted by the S.R.C. at the end of every parliament.”, the Electoral Commission was constituted with its membership cutting across all thirteen faculties. The following are the ratified members of the Commission:

Ikudaisi Johnson – Dentistry – Chairman
Ganiyu Jamiu – EDM – Secretary
Adejuwon Jude – Arts – Public Relations Officer
Akano Sulaiman – Law – Financial Secretary
Adedara Adewale – Education – Member
Bakare Ahmed – Technology – Member
Agbaje Tosin – Clinical Sciences – Member
Olanlokun Yusuf – Pharmacy – Member
Ogundele Kayode –Basic Medical Sciences – Member
Jayeoba Opeyemi – Administration – Member
Bello Taofeek – Sciences – Member
Sanyaolu Azeez – Social Sciences – Member
Alabi Damilola – Agriculture – Member

In pursuant of Article 3, Sect. 59 (1), the Election Petition Committee was constituted with nine members having Adeyemo Akintunde, Akinokun Afiz, Oni Babajide and Oyedele Babatunde as Chairman, Secretary, Public Relations Officer and Financial Secretary respectively.

Even though there is no official statement from the Commission yet neither as to when the nomination forms will start to sell nor the time the elections will come up but an insider revealed to our correspondent that all the electoral processes may not last longer than this week.

Previous Post
Next Post