Friday, 1 May 2015

OAU & 9 Other Schools Get N16b ACE Project Grant

At least 10 Nigerian universities under the Nigerian African Centers of Excellence (ACE) will receive over N16 billion ($1.2billion) grants from the World Bank.

The universities are – Federal University of Agriculture, Abeokuta, Benue State University, Makurdi, Bayero University, Kano, University of Benin, University of Jos, Ahmadu Bello University, Redeemer’s University, Obafemi Awolowo University, University of Port Harcourt, and African University of Science and Technology, Abuja.

The Minister of Education, Malam Ibrahim Shekarau, who made the disclosure the official signing of ACE Performance Contract with the 10 universities in Abuja, warned the management of the institutions to allow ACE project team to concentrate on the objectives of the project.

He insisted that all changes to the team must be cleared with the National Universities Commission (NUC).

The minister said government would not hesitate to reallocate funds from non-performing ACEs to those that are doing well saying, “it is your responsibility to work in harmony with your team to ensure that they perform optimally.”

Speaking at the event, the Executive Secretary of NUC, Prof. Julius Okojie, who is also the Chairman, Steering Committee of the project, said for 30 years Nigeria was backward in terms of academic research and publications.

Previous Post
Next Post

1 comment:

  1. university of Benin is a leader for me among this range! I find that teachers there are really compassionate and open-minded!!!