Friday, 11 December 2015

Professor Popoola Appointed As Committee Chairman To Investigate Misappropriation & Sex Scandal In University

Professor Popoola Appointed As Committee Chairman To Investigate Misappropriation & Sex Scandal In University

The Minister of Education Malam Adamu Adamu on Thursday in Abuja inaugurated committees to investigate the management of 10 universities and polytechnics over allegations ranging from abuse of due process, financial mismanagement to sexual harassment.

The minister said government had received numerous complaints against the governing councils and management of some institutions and resolved to set fact-finding committees to determine the veracity of the claims and give appropriate recommendations.

The institutions included the Federal University Dutsin-Ma, Katsina state, Michael Okpara University of Agriculture, Umudike, Abia state, University of Uyo, Akwa Ibom state, Federal University Kashere, Gombe state, University of Abuja, FCT and University of Nsukka, Enugu state. Others are Federal Polytechnic, Auchi, Edo state, Federal Polytechnic Oko, Anambra state, Yaba College of Technology, Lagos state and University of Calabar, Cross River state.

The minister said the allegations and counter claims against the institutions “have created mistrust and hostility and hindered the smooth conduct of academic activities to the detriment of students,” saying “this cannot continue and it must not be allowed to liger.”

The allegations include: financial misappropriation, disregard of due process, nepotism and irregularities in recruitment and promotion of staff, corruption, power tussle among council members, sexual harassment and fraud to mention but a few.”

The minister named Professor Magaji Garba of Ahmadu Bello University(ABU), Zaria as the committee chair to probe Dutsin-Ma University while Mahmud Sanusi Rafindadi, Rabi’u Hassan Makera, Oyerinde Adeola, L.M Farouk and Anigbogu O.J (secretary) as members. Professor Popoola of Obafemi Awolowo University (OAU) Ile-Ife was the chairman for Umudike University and had Professor Kayode Soremekun, Chief Philip Ukaonu, Uba Ibrahim, Dr. Maryam S. Ali and Amudipe Gabriel (secretary) as members. Professor Sadiq Isa Radda of Bayero University Kano was the chairman for University of Uyo with Professor Mahmud Lawan, Dr. Emmanuel Akpanobong, Iliyasu Rakiya, Engineer Abraham Chindusu and Opariji Catherine (secretary) as members.

Professor Sulkaiman Abdul of Abubakar Tafawa Balewa University (ATBU), Bauchi was the chairman of the fact-finding committee for Kashere University while Blug-Jack Essenwa (secretary), Professor S. N. Madubuike, Prof. B.G. Nworgu, Ulu-Awa Arua and John Mairafi Ahmadu will serve as members. Abuja University had Professor Toyin Olorode of Ekiti state University as chairman, Sani Maikudi, Prof. Vicror Amen, Adeoye Adeleye as members and Ebikwo Juliana as secretary. Prof. Godwin Nsofor of Federal University of Technology, Minna was named chair for the committee of Nsukka University while Mrs. Agnes Bamgbala, Prof. Ikenna Onyido, Prof. Haruna Abdu, Bashir A. Bello, Dr. Chinelu Nwonsu and Ameh Emaliku (secretary) will serve as members.

The committee to investigate Auchi Polytechnic had Prof. Andrew Haruna of ATBU as chairman and Nakwarai Jamil (secretary), Dr. Roxy Momoh, Prof. George Nnona, Folorunso Isaac and Bamamu I.B as members.

The committee to probe Oko Polytechnic had Prof. Sech Accra Jaja of the University of Port-Harcourt ‎ as chairman, Prof. A. L Tanko, Prof. Madueke O. Iwe, Dr. Kareem Olawale, Abubakar Mohd and Mulikat Jimoh (secretary) as members. Professor Idowu Awopetu of OAU was the chairman for the committee to probe Yaba College while Oshiba P. O (secretary), Prof. Ngozi Nnmani, Dr. Sikiru Eniola, Ngubane Gladys and Lawal Hafis will serve as members. The committee for University of Calabar had Dr. Salihu Abubakar of ABU, Zaria as chairman, Haruna A.B (secretary), Prof. Sani Abba, Prof. Greg Wajiga, Uba Uche and B. C Odum as members.

Previous Post
Next Post