Monday, 25 January 2016

Part 2 Botany Students Get Together

Students of the Department of Botany, Obafemi Awolowo University in their 200 level came together on Saturday at the level of BOOB to hold a picnic/get together.

The students who were obviously happy found out time out of their busy schedule to share happy moments and reflect on some issues bordering them ranging from academics to Socials in an event hosted by a duo of Olubanjo Morenikeji a.k.a Mr Lee and Ajakaye Adedoyin a.k.a MzSelfie; both from the class.

An high point of the event was the awarding of some of their distinguished colleague who have excelled in Entrepreneurial engagement. This award was bagged by Elusoji Sodeeq of Edge Projects ahead of the CEO of other Groups. Also, awards of recognition were given to their Class Representative and the Assistant Class Representative for their commitment and good administrative gesture.

The Get-together had an interactive section where the invited guests led by the President of the National Association of Botany Students (NABOS), David Adetula answered several questions from the students particularly on their academic welfare and departmental association affairs. He commended the class members for their outstanding cooperation and unity that birth the initiative and challenged them to export the love to the whole of the Department.

The President of the association in his grand response charged the students to prioritize their academics above other things since that was what brought them together as a class even as they also extend beyond the walls of academics by acquiring skills that will stand them out in the outside world they are been prepared for now that they are still on campus. He went further by stating some of the ongoing programmes and projects of his administration and encouraged the students to exhibit greater participation and involvement.

The Picnic Committee for the class was later unveiled and the membership includes; Hon. Ameenah, Hon. Blessing, Hon. Kelvin, Hikmah, Anthony, Cybersaint, Mr Lee, Gunshot, Xpera, Akes and Olamide.

Invited guests who graced the occasion include the Vice President and General Secretary of the departmental association, Ogunwale Ebunoluwa and Oyekola Opeyemi respectively. Others are Hon. Adesqueen, Hon. Ridwan, Hon. Nerhiswag, Ransom and Ify Chuks. The event lasted 3 hours and was brought to an end at about 5:45pm.
Previous Post
Next Post