Thursday, 29 September 2016

Faculty of Pharmacy OAU Inducts 99 Fresh Pharmacists

Inductees in their Colourful gowns

The atmosphere of the Oduduwa Hall of the Obafemi Awolowo University was certainly a joyful one on Tuesday, 27th September 2016 as students who had completed their five-year undergraduate degree programme in the Faculty of Pharmacy were inducted as Pharmacists.

The induction which began at about 10am had in attendance several dignitaries, parents and friends of the inductees, who glowed effortlessly in their induction gowns.

Addressing the inductees in his address, the keynote speaker of the event, Pharmacist Tayo, advised the new pharmacists to continue to develop themselves especially by acquiring several other skills which would give them an edge in the outside world. The programme also featured a brief presentation by Mr Reuben Tamarau Tenna, who had the best final year project and was also the class representative of the graduating class.

Upon the administration of the Pharmacist's oath by the registrar of the Pharmacists Council of Nigeria, Pharmacist Muhammad, who was duly represented, the Dean of the Faculty of Pharmacy OAU, Professor Adebajo, presented the best graduating student of the Faculty for the 2015/2016 class in person of Miss Olaoye Tosin. Miss Tosin, who graduated with a cumulative grade index of 4.81, was well celebrated at the event as several prizes were awarded her.

Also at the event, Several practicing pharmacists and dignitaries were recognised for their tremendous contributions to the development of the profession. Amongst them are Professor C. Onyeji, former Vice-Chancellor of Enugu State University, Princess Ojo, Pharm Siji Olamiju of Akol Groups, HRM Oba Olatunde Falabi, the Akire of Ikire land, Dr Raymond Zard of the Zard Groups etc. Several other Pharmacists and other dignitaries were also present at the event.

Previous Post
Next Post