Sunday, 25 September 2016

OAU Lecturer Wins Fafunwa Education Foundation Award

Obafemi Awolowo University lecturer, Dr. Toju Toritseju Eyengho of the Department of Art and Social Sciences has emerged one of the winners of this year's Fafunwa Education Foundation Awards.

Nigerians have also hailed the Fafunwa Education Foundation (FEF) for contributing to the development of the education sector.

Speaking on Friday at the Annual Awards Ceremony of the foundation held at the Faculty of Education Auditorium, University of Lagos (UNILAG), they said FEF over the years, had made a lot of impact in the education industry.

The people, comprising students, academics, entrepreneurs and others, said the topic of the 2016 lecture titled: “tackling the problem of unemployment in Nigeria” was relevant to the recession the country was experiencing.

They said if the recommendations to be made by the foundation are implemented, they will proffer solutions to unemployment.

The Post Doctoral Award in Education was won by Dr. Olabisi Adedigba of the Faculty of Education, (Department of Teacher Education), University of Ibadan, Ibadan with the topic: “Efficacy of Literature-Based Instructional Strategies on Pupils Awareness of and Attitude to Child Right in Kwara State, Nigeria; who went home with N250,000.

Dr. Bivese-Djebah Philomena Anwulika of the Faculty of Education (Dept of Educational Foundations), University of Lagos, Akoka emerged second with the topic: Effects or Cognitive Restructuring and social support on Marital Instability Among Selected Working Married Women in Lagos State, Nigeria; and carted away N150,000.

Dr. Toju Toritseju Eyengho of the Faculty of Education (Dept of Art and Social Sciences), Obafemi Awolowo University (OAU), Ile-Ife came third with the topic: “Assessment and Implementation of Primary and Secondary Schools Curricular and Co-Curricular Activities in Southwestern Nigeria; and got N100,000.

In the Best Performance in WASSCE (May/June 2015) category, Abia State came top, followed by Anambra State and Edo State.

The awards were presented by the chairman of the FEF’s Academic Committee, Prof. Kayode Alao, of the Faculty of Education, Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile-Ife.

The FEF, a non-government organization, was established in January 1995 to provide fresh insight and practical ideas on improving education in the country.

Previous Post
Next Post