Saturday, 11 March 2017

Kelvin Triumphs At Polls Following Intense Politicking In NASS

The students of the Faculty of Science, under the body of the Nigerian Association of Science Students (NASS), elected new leaders for the 2016/2017 session on Thursday, 9th March 2017.

Following several weeks of intense politicking, Mr Okoli Victor, popularly known as Kelvin, won the Presidential seat with 612 votes, emerging as winner with a margin of 69 votes between him and his contender, Mr Agbaje Sylvester, who garnered 543 votes.

The Vice President elect, Obisesan Oluwatosin, contested and won unopposed. The story is the same for the offices of the General Secretary, Treasurer, P.R.O and Director of Socials which were won by Erhonwo Godspower, Erogbon Anuoluwapo, Obi Samuel Michael and Ogunleye Damilola respectively.

Odemuyiwa Suliyat, who contested for the post of Assistant General Secretary, had 583 votes while her opponent, Akintayo Olanrewaju, had 558 votes, thereby winning by an interesting margin of 25 votes. Also, in the contest for the office of financial secretary, Owojori Emmanuel won by 640 votes leaving his other aspirant, Olagoke Oladayo with 491 votes.

Another interestingly contested office was that involving the Director of Socials elect, Oyafemi Olajide who had 606 votes and as against his opponent, Adedeji Israel, who had 505 votes, leaving a 101 vote count difference.

At the end of the process, the total number of valid votes were 1,225.
Previous Post
Next Post