Saturday, 10 April 2021

President Muhammadu Buhari Reconstitutes Governing Councils of OAU, 4 Other Federal Universities

By Hassan Pelumi

President Muhammadu Buhari  has dissolved and reconstituted new governing councils for Obafemi Awolowo University (OAU) Ile-Ife and 4 different universities in Nigeria. University of Ibadan (UI), University of Port Harcourt (UNIPORT)University of  Lagos (UNILAG), and Maritime University in Delta are the universities affected. The approval of the dissolution was contained in a statement by Mr Sonny Echono, the Permanent Secretary, Federal Ministry of Education in Abuja on Thursday 8th of April 2021. 

Here is a list of the new council of the universities:


Chief Odigie Oyegun, Chairman; Mr Masud Kazaure, Abba Yaro, Alhaji Abubakar Maikafi and Mr Emeka Nwagbo are listed members of the new council of UI.

For  UNIPORT, the governing council members are Sen. Andrew Uchendu as Chairman while Mr Kolo Uzamat, Cdre. D. T. Hinga, Mohammed Makarfi and Ahmed Al-Mustapha are members.

“...For UNILAG, we have Dr Lanre Tejuosho as Chairman,  with  Dr Aminu Ahmed, Dr Uro Gardner, Chief Chinedu Adindi and Mr Mustafa Salihu as members.

...also, OAU  has Chief Oscar Udoji as Chairman with Capt. Bala Jibrin, Mr Eugene Odo, Dr Lateef Babata and Alhaji Saidu Bako as members.”

“The Nigerian Maritime University, Okerenkoko in Delta has Dr Elias Courson as Chairman and  Mr Nelson Alapa, Mr Victor Giadono, Alhaji Bello Dukku and Mr Godwin Ananghe as members,” he stated.

The permanent secretary also stated that all the governing councils of the five universities would be inaugurated in Abuja by the Minister of Education, Malam Adamu Adamu, on April 19. However, he directed Vice-Chancellors of the affected universities to attend the inauguration ceremony.

Source: Premium Times 


Previous Post
Next Post