Thursday, 6 May 2021

Faculty of Arts Student Representative Council Nominates Standing Committees

By Adesina Ayomide Emmanuel

At the fourth business sitting which held on 6th of May 2021 after going on a recess on Sunday 2nd of May 2021, Faculty of Arts Student Representative Council (FSRC) nominated  standing committees. 

The business sitting which had 13 honourables in attendance out of the 30 honourables.  The FSRC started with Hon. Timmy black from the department of History raising the motion that the first agenda was the leadership of the house election to be suspended and the selection of another Electoral Committee before the next sitting. The motion was seconded by Hon. Hollick from the English department.

Hon. Larexy from the history department made an observation that since the house had low attendance, they should suspend the nomination of the committee, however, other honourables like Hon. D Gof(Dramatics Art) and Hon. Taofeek(English department) were against Hon. Larexy and insisted that the house should move on with the nomination of the standing committees. It was noted that it was important to select Budget and Finance Committee and the Audit Committee. A motion was moved by Hon. Taofeek that the house should formulate the Budget and Finance Committee with 5 members which was seconded by Hon. D Gof. 

The house hereby proceeded with the nomination of the Budget and Finance committee that resulted to the selection of Hon. Timmiblaque as the Chairperson, Hon. Pelumi (English) as the Secretary, Hon. D Gof (Music) as the PRO while Hon. Temidayo and Hon. Hollick (English) serves as members. 

The Speaker Rt. Hon Zachman from English department suggested while the house proceeded to nominate the Audit Committee that 3 members of Audit Committee should be nominated at the sitting while the rest should be nominated in the subsequent sitting. However, Hon. Larexy was in opposition to the suggestion because the constitution categorically stated that every honourable that does not resume after a recess would be mark absent. He was supported by Hon. Arole from History department. At the end of the nomination, the house selected five honorables; Hon. Larexy from History department as the chairman, Hon. Jethro from Dramatic Arts department as the Secretary, Hon. Tao from English department as the PRO, Hon. Ali from English department and Hon. Arole from History department as members.

The House also resolved that the CEC, led by the President, Comrade Hamzat, are to be sent a letter demanding for an explanation on their failure to attend the resumed sitting.

Previous Post
Next Post